Help!… More sleep needed.

on

So a friend of mine… All the while I’ve known him has been a vampire.

image

Lol…not vampire in the sucking blood context but in being really active at night when he should be sleeping. I always thought that was how he wanted it and I was fine with it since he always had time during the day to get sleep.

One point, I realised even when he had to be up at six or seven in the morning, he still couldn’t sleep. I used to wait it out with him chatting or talking but really, I’d be dying to sleep (#I’mverymuchinterestedinsleeping) but because I’d feel like talking with him till dawn…it didn’t affect me much.

The thing is…it’s not exactly normal or healthy for one to stay up all night… Every single night….even when you’ve got somewhere to be early in the morning. I thought about it… (actually I was convinced by the eye bags forming on his face) and felt we needed to do something about it. But first, what is the cause of him being unable to sleep…

Who knows?

Well, I think that’s the first step… Finding out what keeps him awake all night… Or atleast how he feels during that period.

image

Anyway, I started a search on the internet and stumbled on something I really wanted to share with people…. What better way than right here. I found some tips that I think might really help and they are as follows ->

  • Stick to a sleep schedule. Go to bed and wake up at a regular time (even on weekends)
  • Exercise. Include regular exercise into     your schedule.

  • Avoid caffeine and nicotine. It can take 8 hours for the effects of caffeine to wear off.

  • Avoid alcohol before bed. Alcohol keeps you in the lighter stages of sleep.

  • Avoid large meals and beverages late at night. This can cause reflux as well as cause you to awaken frequently to use the bathroom.

  • Avoid naps after eating, it can cause reflux.Don’t take naps after 3 pm. It might interfere with your ability to fall asleep.

  • Relax before bed. This should be a daily part of your sleep ritual.

  • Have a good sleeping environment. Get rid of anything that might distract or interrupt your sleep such as TVs, computers, bright lights, or noises.

  • Don’t lie awake in bed. If you are awake in bed for more than 20 minutes, get up and do a relaxing activity until you feel sleepy

What are your own views… Do you think they might work.? Do you have any other suggestions, please enlighten us here. Every thought/comment will be appreciated.

Thank you…

fabloshope

Leave a Reply

